Follow us on Twitter! Follow us on Facebook! Follow us on Instagram!



Photographer: Eric Palmer


Words by Greg Moloney.

JOHANNESBURG 2018 - Round for of the TRP SA MX National Championship headed back inland to Terra Topia in Johannesburg to continue the battle for supremacy and national championship honours. The event also doubled up with the Norther Regions MX Champs too and so for some riders it would be twice as important to get those valuable points up for grabs.

The MX1 class proved to be the races of the day with a four way four manufacturer battle in the first heat with four time winner from the last round Caleb Tennant on his Q4 Fuels Husqvarnna taking the first win. But as stated not an easy win with David Goosen Out of Africa Yamaha, Kerim Fitz-Gerald Red Bull KTM and Nicholas Adams on his Kawasaki pushing Tennant for the majority of the race for the four way battle.
In the second heat everyone expected another clean sweep from Tennant who looked great out the gate but was caught out by his own mistake through the newly created start sector and washed out his front tyre exiting the section and fell off. He remounted and had to charge from the back of the field. This left Goosen who had hole shotted to lead from start to finish. However it was not plain sailing for the Yamaha mounted rider as he was pressurised by his team mate and current MX1 Champion Tristan Purdon right down to the second to last sector. Purdon unfortunately made a small mistake trying a late move for the lead and he then settled for a well earned second.

Overall results were David Goosen 6-1, Anthony Reynard (Lights by Linea KTM) 2-3 and Caleb Tennant 1-6 (Who also hangs onto the championship lead headed to Zone 7.)

MX2 was another dominant display of the two Husqvarna Race Team riders with Caleb Tennant and Matthew Malan sharing the top two podium positions, albeit swapping 1st and 2nd respectively in the two race heats. A much revived Kerim’s Fitz-Gerald definitely showed his prowess and finished 3rd in both heats but also had his work cut out for him in defending the attack’s from Slade Smith Midas ABE Honda, Goosen and Raynard.
Overall Results: Tennant 2-1, Malan 1-2, Fitz-Gerald 3-3 with Tennant also hanging on to the championship lead in this class too.

Two more super races in the MX3 saw Ian Topliss Out Of Africa Yamaha, back on top. He went on to win both heats followed closely by championship leader heading into this round, Dewald van der Berg R&M Racing. Brett Bircher battled this week end and after a third in the first heat only managed a 7th. But this allowed Leonard Petersen a chance to get onto the podium with a 4th and a 3rd in each heat and then a third overall for the day.

In the highly competitive High School class, most people expected another epic one, with the aptly nicknamed Brat Pack, but it all petered out with the return of current champion Cameron Durow Reef Tankers KTM and a lesson in what international experience can bring. A double win for Durow and nearly 3 seconds quicker than any other rider, left our usual contenders in the last two rounds trying to get the valuable points for second. Justin Sangster, who came into the round with the Red plate designating his championship points lead after Bloemfontein, eventually finished 2nd and Dalton Venter CIT Team in third moved himself up into a top 5 slot overall in the 125 class.

It was very important for Kayla Raaff DForce Racing KTM to try to get some redemption after Bloem, and that’s exactly what she set out to do, but her arch rival Leah Heygate TRP KTM SA was up for the challenge. Raaff doubled up to keep her championship lead for Cape Towns 5th Round. It was great to see Yanke Pieterse on her Yamaha on the podium again.

In the Junior classes the little wars continued on all fronts, with notable mentions coming out of the 50cc class wins from both Andrea Mynhardt and Jack Pullen, with the latter eventually topping the overall podium and Mynhardt dropping to 3rd. A 2nd and 3rd in the two races from Louis Mostert saw him spoilt the two race winners for 2nd overall.

65cc was a tough affair as always and despite KTM and Husqvarnna dominance in this class in the past, big news came in the form of Luca Mynhardt who gave Yamaha SA their first podium in the second heat with a credible 3rd, but the young gun had hole shotted and lead almost the entire race. He would also finish 3rd overall behind the two most aggressive riders on the day, Emmanuel Bako Vision Racing and Barend Du Toit Raceworx KTM who would finish 1st and 2nd overall respectively.

The Pro Mini class saw a double win for Jonathan Mlimi Red Bull TRP KTM followed by Mark Anthony Filip CAP Racing and Blake Young RAD Moto KTM whom both swapped out the available 2nd’s and 3rds in each race giving the trio the top three overall and a more comfortable championship lead heading to Zone 7 for Mlimi.

In the 85cc Juniors Luke Grundy took the overall spoils for his 2nd and 1st in the two heats. He was also pushed in both heats with Bako who as you can see from his results in the 65cc had a very busy day in the office. Wesley McGavin being the 3rd place for the days racing means that Troy Moraour loses his championship lead and will be back in Cape Town for round fives action of the TRP National Motocross Championship.


Photographer: Eric Palmer


Results - 2018 TRP Distributors SA MX National, Round 4 Terra Topia.

MX1 - Overall
1. David Goosen (Yamaha) 42pts; 2. Anthony Raynard (KTM) 42pts; 3. Caleb Tennant (Husqvarna) 42pts.

MX2 - Overall
1. Caleb Tennant (Husqvarna) 47pts; 2. Matthew Malan (Husqvarna) 42pts; 3. Kerim Fitz-Gerald (KTM) 40pts.

MX3 - Overall
1. Ian Topliss (Yamaha) 50pts; 2. Dewald van der Berg (Husqvarna) 44pts; 3. Leonard Peterson (Honda) 39pts.

Ladies - Overall
1. Kayla Raaff (KTM) 50pts; 2. Leah Heygate (KTM) 44pts; 3. Yanke Pieterse (Yamaha) 39pts.

High School - Overall
1. Cameron Durow (KTM) 50pts: 2. Justin Sangster (KTM) 42pts; 3. Dalton Venter (Husqvarna) 42pts.

Pro Mini - Overall
1. Jonathan Mlimi (KTM) 50pts; 2. Mark-Anthony Filip (KTM) 42pts; 3. Blake Young (KTM) 42pts.

85cc Juniors - Overall
1. Luke John Grundy (KTM) 45pts; 2. Emmanuel Bako (Husqvarna) 45pts; 3. Wesley McGavin (KTM) 41pts.

65cc - Overall
1. Emmanuel Bako (Husqvarna) 45pts; 2. Barend Du Toit (KTM) 45pts; 3. Lucca Mynhardt (KTM) 41pts.

50cc - Overall
1. Jack Pullen (Husqvarna) 45pts; 2. Louis Mostert (Husqvarna) 42pts; 3. Andrea Mynhardt (KTM) 41pts.


Photographer: Eric Palmer


© Copyright 2015 - 2018 SA MX Nationals. All Rights Reserved.